The winner of the 2024 Commonwealth Short Story Prize has been announced. Find out more.

The 2024 Max Margles Writing Residency

In Fall 2024, an English-language fiction writer will travel from Quebec to Ireland for the third Max Margles Writing Residency, following in the footsteps of Heather O’Neill (2023) and Tracey Waddleton (2022).

The successful applicant will spend three weeks at the prestigious Tyrone Guthrie Centre, Annaghmakerrig, Co Monaghan, Ireland. The dates of the residency are from October 11 to November 1, 2024.

Established in 1981, the Tyrone Guthrie Centre is Ireland’s foremost artistic residency centre. The Annaghmakerrig ‘Big House’ has eleven private bedrooms, and offers residencies to international artists in all disciplines, from literature to dance, music to theatre. The 2024 Max Margles Writer-in-Residence will have peace and quiet to fully concentrate on their creative project.

The residency covers:

  • Round-trip flights from Montreal, Quebec to Ireland, and travel to the Centre
  • Accommodation & meals
  • A stipend of $2,300 CAD
  • Incidental expenses ($35 per day)
  • Travel and medical insurance

The successful applicant will be asked to write one short blog post during their residency for publication on the QWF website, and one blog post on their return to Quebec.

The Quebec Writers’ Federation is delighted to partner with the Irish Writers’ Centre and the Tyrone Guthrie Centre on this project.

[continue reading here]

Enquiries about submissions should be directed to Quebec Writers’ Federation. Please always refer to their website for complete details and information.

Please note, this competition is run by Quebec Writers’ Federation, not the Commonwealth Foundation.