Watch the highlights of our recent event View now

Commonwealth Short Story Prize regional winners published by Granta

Posted on 28/05/2013
By Martin Petts

Commonwealth Writers has partnered with Granta magazine to give regional winners of the Commonwealth Short Story Prize the opportunity to be edited and published by Granta. 

The Commonwealth Foundation announced the regional winners for the 2013 Commonwealth Short Story Prize on 14 May and these writers will now compete to become the overall winner, to be unveiled at Hay Festival UK on 31 May.

During the week leading up to the final announcement, each winning story will be published on Granta’s website at midday (BST):

27 May
Eliza Robertson, Canada (regional winner: Canada and Europe)
We Walked on Water

28 May
Sharon Millar, Trinidad and Tobago (regional winner: Caribbean)
The Whale House 

29 May
Julian Jackson, South Africa (regional winner: Africa)
The New Customers

30 May
Michael Mendis, Sri Lanka (regional winner: Asia)
The Sarong-Man in the Old House, and the Incubus for a Rainy Night 

31 May
Zoe Meager, New Zealand (regional winner: Pacific)
Things with Faces

Granta is a quarterly literary magazine of new writing. Published in book format, each issue includes stories, essays, memoir, poetry and art centred around a theme. Throughout its long history, Granta has published the most significant writers of our time featuring work by writers including Julian Barnes, Edwidge Danticat, Kazuo Ishiguro, Salman Rushdie, Santiago Roncagliolo, David Mitchell, Lorrie Moore, Zadie Smith, Jeanette Winterson and more. In recent years, the magazine has expanded to include foreign editions – in Spain, Italy, Brazil, Norway, China, Finland, Sweden, Portugal and Bulgaria.