The winner of the 2024 Commonwealth Short Story Prize has been announced. Find out more.

Commonwealth Prizes

Commonwealth Writers is re-focusing its prizes to concentrate on the Short Story, opening for entry on 1 October. 

The Short Story Prize is awarded for the best piece of unpublished short fiction (2000-5000 words). Writers are able to enter stories translated into English from other languages. 

Regional winners of the 2014 Commonwealth Short Story Prize will receive £2,500 and the Overall Winner will receive £5,000. Translators will receive additional prize money.

The Commonwealth Book Prize will no longer be offered. 

The 2014 judging panel will be chaired by Ellah Allfrey, Deputy Chair of the Council of the Caine Prize, formerly Deputy Editor of Granta and Senior Editor at Jonathan Cape, Random House.

The 2014 Short Story Prize will open for entry on 1 October 2013 and close on 30 November 2013. Entry is via the online application form at The judges, who reflect the five regions of the Commonwealth, will be announced on 1 October. The 2013 Short Story prizewinners, Eliza Robertson and Sharon Millar, are pictured receiving their awards at the Hay Festival, UK.