The Bridport Prize: Poetry, Short Story, Flash Fiction. Deadline 31 May 2019





The Bridport Prize international creative writing competition is open for entries until 31 May 2019.


There are 4 categories:

Poetry – max 42 lines – judge Hollie McNish

Short Story – max. 5,000 words – judge Kirsty Logan

Flash Fiction – max. 250 words – judge Kirsty Logan

Peggy Chapman-Andrews Award for a First Novel – judge Naomi Wood


All categories are open to writers internationally except for the Novel Award which is currently only open to writers in Great Britain and Ireland.


Poetry & Short Story: | 1st prize £5,000 | 2nd prize £1,000 | 3rd prize £500 plus ten Highly Commended awards of £100

Flash Fiction: 1st prize £1,000 | 2nd prize £500 | 3rd prize £250 plus 3 x Highly Commended awards of £100

Novel Award: 1st prize £1,000 plus up to a year’s mentoring from The Literary Consultancy (worth £2,340) | runner-up £500 plus a full manuscript appraisal from TLC | 3 x shortlisted winners £100 plus a 50 page manuscript appraisal from TLC.

The winning poems, short stories and flash fiction will be published in the Winners’ anthology in October 2019. An exciting development for 2019 will see the publication of a second anthology, containing extracts from the twenty long-listed novels.

Closing date: 31 May


Winners and shortlisted writers are contacted during September.

For full details, rules, to enter online or download a postal entry form visit


Follow Bridport Prize at:

Twitter: @BridportPrize

Insurgency in India through a young girl’s eyes.


Read ‘Greetings from a Violent Homeland’ by Ritu Monjori Kalita Deka.