Africa@2050- Writing Competition: Imagining Climate Futures

The Africa@2050 Writing Prize is now open for submissions. Please visit: AFRICA@2050 CLIMATE FICTION COMPETITION | Energy Ethics

Africa@2050 is a project based at the Centre for Energy Ethics (CEE) at the University of St Andrews and the Centre for Climate Change and Sustainability Studies (C3SS) at the University of Ghana. It is funded by the Scottish Funding Council.

  • The competition is free to enter
  • Cash prizes: £1000 (winner), £500 (second prize), £300 (third prize), and shortlisted entries (£100).
  • Submit your entry by 18 JUNE 2021, 23:59 Central African Time (CAT).
  • Submit your story of Africa@2050, as a short story (max 1500 words) or poem (max 1000 words). The story should broadly and creatively engage with the issue of climate change on the African continent, including (but not restricted to): climate justice; energy; carbon emissions, trading and capture; mining & rare earth minerals; water scarcity; electric transportation; agriculture & food security; extreme weather events; waste; toxicity; sustainability.

In addition to cash prizes, winning and shortlisted participants will be invited to participate in a Climate Futures Workshop on June 30 2021. Winners and shortlisted applicants must be available to attend and contribute to the Climate Workshop following their award (to be held virtually on Zoom). Winners and shortlisted entries will be showcased on the website, and feature in a virtual COP26 fringe event in October 2021 at the Energy Ethics 2021 Conference ‘Energy Transitions & Planetary Futures’.

Additional rules:

  1. You must be aged 18 or over, and be national or resident of the following sub-Saharan African countries: Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Republic
    of the Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Réunion, Rwanda, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Western Sahara, Zambia and Zimbabwe.
  2. Your entry must be previously-unpublished work.
  3. Entries can be in any language, but, if not in English, must be submitted alongside a full English translation for the
    purpose of the competition. Only the English version will be evaluated for the competition. If selected, winning and
    shortlisted texts will feature in their original language texts alongside the English translation.
  4. You will retain copyright of the entry you submit. By entering the competition, you agree to have the entry featured
    on our website.
  5. Entries will be reviewed and shortlisted by an internal panel, and submitted to a panel of external judges for final
    review and award.
  6. Winners, runners-up and shortlisted applicants will be notified by email.

Enquiries about submissions should be directed to Africa@2050, please always refer to their website for complete details and information.

Please note, this prize is run by Africa@2050, not Commonwealth Writers.