We are looking for Commonwealth citizens to share their views ahead of the 2024 Heads of Government Meeting. Sign up to take part

2015 Bristol Short Story Prize. Deadline 30 April

Posted on 09/12/2014
By Commonwealth Foundation
2014 Bristol Prize Winner Mahsuda Snaith
2014 Bristol Prize Winner Mahsuda Snaith

Vol 7 front cover finalThe 2015 Bristol Short Story Prize is open for entries. Now in its 8th year, the Prize is open to published and unpublished writers in the UK and internationally.
Entries must be no longer than 4000 words, but there is no minimum length. Stories can be on any theme or subject and are welcome in any style including graphic, verse or genre-based works.
20 stories will be shortlisted and published in the Bristol Short Story Prize Anthology Volume 8. The top three winning stories will be selected from the shortlist of 20. First prize is £1,000 plus a £150 Waterstones gift card, 2nd prize is £700 plus a £100 Waterstones gift card and 3rd prize is £400 plus a £100 Waterstones gift card. 17 prizes of  £100 will be presented to the remaining shortlisted writers.
The judging panel will be chaired by writer and producer Sara Davies, with literary agent Rowan Lawton, writer and TV presenter, Sanjida O’Connell, and the writer and performer Nikesh Shukla.
Stories can be entered online or by post. Stories must not have been previously published or broadcast. The closing date for entries is midnight (BST) on April 30th 2015. There is an £8.00 entry fee for each story entered. Please visit the Bristol Prize’s website for full entry rules.
For news of more opportunities, follow Commonwealth Writers on twitter (@cwwriters) and Facebook.

More Opportunities